Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

workshop

Location: 27 Clerkenwell Rd, London, EC1M 5RN

 

Cuisine: Coffee shop and restaurant

Cost: £15 depending on how much coffee you drink

Contact details: www.workshopcoffee.com/pages/clerkenwell-cafe

I am as interested in coffee as much as gluten free food. I apply the same principles of artisan integrity, if not more so, to each coffee company I try however I am often unable to combine the two passions. Gluten free cakes, lunches, breakfasts are often restricted, rarely imaginative (unlike my favourite brunch at Modern Pantry) and often only have the good old GF brownie.

But Workshop is different. Well, the Clerkenwell branch of this coffee power house and roaster – the others are just coffee bars – thinks nothing of making its own gluten free bread. What makes this special however is how (like at my local cafe The Brockley Mess) it totally opens up the menu, especially for brunch. Fancy seasonal grilled asparagus, poached eggs and truffled marscapone? How about Poached eggs, ham hock, chipoltle sauce and spinach? Or maybe French toast, poached rhubarb, orange marscapone and hazlenuts….? Just take a look at this menu. It makes my mouth water just reading it.

I opted for French Toast, a rare gluten free treat that TOTALLY delivered. The staff at the bar grinned at me knowingly “happy face?” they said. Two thick, eggy slices of tasty bread that did not disintegrate despite being under a mound of poached rhubarb liquor and zesty cream cheese…. an ace combination but all the better for being gluten free.

I urge you to try the food here. It is wonderful, especially when you can sample the awesome, expertly roasted and brewed coffees alongside equally amazing gluten free food. Thank you Workshop Coffee. I shall remember that brunch for some time.

 

