Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_3275Gluten free biscuits are often disappointing in my experience. Dry, crumbly, over sweet, dusty impersonations of the real thing. However, after placing a large order on new online free from shop FREEGO, which included some Lemon Oat Thins from Pulsetta, I think I have found my kind of product.

Intrigued by the concept of biscuits made with peas and lentils, I expected these to be ‘wholesome’. You know what I mean. But boy they were good. Perfect miniature rounds to pop in your mouth, they are reminiscent of shortbread texture. Well balanced with lemon and sweetness, a couple was enough. Proving the sugar hit was not driving me to eat the whole pack. As usual. Add to this they are actually good for you makes these treats far from empty. High in fibre and a source of protein, they are free from dairy, additives, egg, colourings. But coeliacs note they do include GF oats.

Their biscuit range includes sweet and savoury and I urge you to try them. The Sunflower Seeded Oat Thins are flavoursome and moreish. Delicious enough to be perfect alone, or topped with cheese, and not a dusty crumbly imitation in sight. They also make GF breads too, and breadcrumbs that contribute to your 5 fruit and veg count! And if the biscuits are anything to go by, I should order now….

Available online and largely in Scotland (they are a Scottish Co.) their products are also supplied by a number of wholesalers including some in London.

