Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_5497I think I have mentioned before, I used to work as a New Product Developer for Burger King. What my husband thought was the BEST JOB IN THE WORLD, creating and eating burgers for a living actually made me ill. This was before my diagnosis.

Back then, one of my favourite areas for development was the breakfast. Those hangover curing handheld bundles were also fun to “premium-ise”, but sadly they never got to launch. This was 10 year ago, and how the food scene and my diet has changed? Diagnosed coeliac and the burger world is unrecognisable. Loyal friend to the gluten free community Honest Burgers has led the charge on that, and now we can have our burgers in GF buns in most places.

IMG_5511

And now they are leading the way on the most boring meal of the day if you are gluten free. Breakfast! Launched at the beginning of this year in Liverpool St and Clapham, their new breakfast menu champions the great British fry up, using the finest meat from The Ginger Pig. Forget the black pudding, swap out the muffins for gluten free bun – they are the only substitutions – even the sausages on the “knife and fork” menu in Clapham are GF.

I had the Honest Muffin – swapping the black pudding for roast tomato and in a GF bun. With unlimited refills on Caravan filter coffee, it was a cracking bargain at £6. The taste was bang on and gave me a lovely trip down memory lane, albeit safe for me to eat and a far superior quality.

I do hope they roll this out across other branches too soon.

